This Game Do That To You

scutcol.jpgI don’t even want to look. This game do that to you. I had some terrible dreams and tried to remember we are at the All-Star break. I don’t even want to read any of the news. It’sYouk and that ankle. His stance, besides his grimaced bouncing out of the box, looked as though his weight was shifting differently. Well, hell, his stance is like that. He could have nails inside his cleats and we wouldn’t know.
Crazy things can and will happen in the second half.

This season has had some exhausting lows and wild highs. This game do that to you. (You have your own ideas of its best and worst moments. I have to ponder that further.) Everyday I turn to the Globe and MLB.Com. Later in the day, I tune into WEEI and 98.5 and Red Sox blogs. I forgot I am supposed to vote to get him into the All-Star. Will he end up on crutches and join that crew on the bench?  Last night, before Darnell smacked that double down the line, the camera panned a slovenly, tired group of guys hanging over the railing. That wasn’t a shot of disheartened, drunk Red Sox fans in the beach bar near left field. It was the Sox bench. A comeback would have changed that body language, more like the slang of losing. It would have changed my dreams, too. This game do that to you.

There have been essays written about optimism when one is a Sox fan, including one excellent piece by Jerry Thornton. It comes up a lot, this optimism/ pessimism thing. On the blogs and in the comment boxes, persnickety and downright mean peeps sling metaphorical pig snot at each other when the Sox lose. Three losses in a row guarantees some good action today.

Some will question Tito. Some will bemoan the Ramones of the bullpen. Pun and misspelling intended. Some will want Theo’s head. Some will tell Peter Abraham that he is a closet Yankee fan, even though he covers the Sox with a Sox-like grit and passion. Others will tell me to shut up. This game do that to you. “The Stresses of the Game” is the title of the next chapter I’ve reached in Doug Glanville’s new book. It helps to keep that in mind. There is a set of stresses for us as fans. Then there is the unimaginable stress as a player.

But as I write this, I am drawn back to video clip of Dustin provided by my fellow blogger, Fenway Bleacher Creature(FBC) Dustin says, in so many words, people counted us out in April and May, They talked about my slump. They talked about Papi’s slump.Then what happened??! Laser show. I can’t even imagine what it must be like to have him as a teammate. Hysterical.

If you are feeling like me this morning. Game over. No fight. Like we knew it all along with all those line-up changes and Lackey lacking, like you are looking at your shoes and can’t see the next game, remember there is another whole half of a season. And tomorrow is another game. Go watch Fever Pitch and have a cold beer. Or come over and watch it with me. I have the beer. And after last night, I have a case of it. This game do that to you. But then what happens?
Laser show.

Right of the Pesky Pole: Notes

I lifted the phrase, “This game do that to you” from the outstanding short story by Nicholas Mainieri in the baseball issue of The Southern Review. See my links for more about the lit mag.

6 comments

  1. raysrenegade

    I am not sure if you need to assemble a M*A*S*H tent within the Red Sox clubhouse or make a human scarifice to the Baseball gods.
    Right now your team is finding new ways to hurt themselves. But I got to hand it to your staff. They have kept it together, not relied on cliches’ and cheap moments to enhance the quality of the game or the performance.
    Always have said in the past, in a rivalry like the Rays and Red Sox…..One mistake can be the ballgame.
    This series was no exception to that…

    Rays Renegade

    http://raysrenegade.mlblogs.com

  2. Fenway Bleacher Creature

    This is a great post, and thanks for the link to Jerry Thornton’s piece. It’s very well done. We really need to get over this hump, no matter how long it takes, because once we have even 4 of the 11 something (the number changes each day) injured players back in the lineup, we can produce. I hope that day comes very soon.

    -Fenway Bleacher Creature
    http://the3rs.mlblogs.com/

  3. bklyntrolleyblogger

    A giant thought bubble looms over my head with everything I want to say about the Sox. But I’m laughing anyone off who suggests Tito or Theo should be given a pink slip. The Sox have too many prideful gamers on that team and that’s why I think they’ll be in the mix. So much has gone wrong already and they’re still within shouting distance. A little health and luck can still go a far way.
    mike
    http://thebrooklyntrolleyblogger.mlblogs.com/

  4. BunkSox

    That post made me smile. Thank you! I’ve been trudging through that whole optimism/pessimism thing myself. I do need to watch Fever Pitch. Actually, after we got swept by the Rays, I went to mlb.com and watched a bunch of highlights and post-game interviews from the 2007 playoffs. Seeing the guys happy made me happy and made me believe. I thought to myself how down and out we felt and were thought to be at the beginning of the year, and as you stated, we have a whole other half season to get together and rise up again. I’ve got my sunglasses ready for the Laser Show!
    http://bunksox.mlblogs.com/

  5. crzblue2

    Michael,
    AFter the loss to the Cubs today where our starter was lifted in the 3rd, I went to a charity softball game to benefit Lou Gehrig’s desease. Nothing like that to make you feel better. It was a beautify day at Malibu just watching a game without any preasure. It was hosted by Steve Garvey with lots of Baseball legends like Pete Rose showing up and other celebrities all getting together for a good cause.
    Emma
    http://crzblue.mlblogs.com

  6. raysfanboy

    Honestly, I counted you guys out too. You were so far back, and had so many injuries, it just seemed like this would not be your year. And then you rattled of a ton of wins.

    Southern Review is one of the most respected literary journals out there. I almost got a short story in there once. I did not know they had a baseball issue, though. I’ll have to check that out!

    http://raysfanboy.mlblogs.com/

Leave a Reply

