Winner of the Thomas’ Trolley Poetry Contest!!

The winner of our poetry contest is a baseball blogger extraordinaire who needs no introduction. He is a baseball fan whose huge baseball heart covers two teams, passionately and intelligently. As the baseball fates have done, Michael L. is a fellow Trolley blogger. I named my own blog without any knowledge of his, and when I asked him later if he wanted me to change my blog name, he graciously said that I ought to keep going with the Boston Trolley, which complements his Brooklyn baseball rails.

Without any further professing from me, I offer my CONGRATULATIONS, and a RED SOX personalized BP Jersey, for first prize.(Also, a BP cap goes to our Honorable Mention winner, Saribel, from Fort Lauderdale, Florida).

The Outstanding Winning Poem:

First Day at Fenway

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
X-NONE
X-NONE

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-qformat:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0in;
mso-para-margin-right:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0in;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;}

Where was this team from – They with an X in their name;

This team from far away in the Bronx for a game?

Where was this team from, who battled the Yanks so tough?

Fist fights and brawls and baseball that was often rough.

Where was this team from I asked my Father one day?

From Boston he said and play at little Fenway.

 

One day in October I ran home with all speed,

to sadly watch Bucky Dent steal a Red Sox lead.

That day in October I yearned to watch YAZ play.

I thought with all hope, maybe he could save the day.

This one October with no words to help impart,

Somehow this team from Boston had captured my heart.

 

My first game at Fenway was Ninteen Ninety Three.

But Yaz, Fisk, Rice and Lynn were those I longed to see.

My first game at Fenway; My mind has saved the day.

I hoped the sun would not set on Ol’ Yawkey Way.

My first game at Fenway is the day I recall,

walking Lansdowne and a Monsterous big Green wall.

 

I’m a Met fan from Brooklyn so how could it be,

that a ball club from Boston could so affect me?

As a kid from Brooklyn, we have a common foe.

Share this town with the Yanks is all you need to know.

Brooklyn is a long way from Kenmore Square Station.

That’s why I am the Duke of The BROOKLYN NATION!

 

 

By Mike

theBrooklynTrolleyBlogger

One comment

  1. bklyntrolleyblogger

    Fenway is a very magical place for me to be; everytime. I hope Bostonians and greater RedSox Nation give their blessings to the BrooklynNation. Thank you to Thomas’ Trolley for providing an opportunity for me to share something with Red Sox fans and many more thanks for selecting my entry. My 7th grade English teacher was pretty cool. I’ll thank him too!
    Mike
    http://thebrooklyntrolleyblogger.mlblogs.com/

Leave a Reply

